English
Languages
  • Home
    • Help Projects
    • 2021: Flood Victims in Ahrweiler
    • 2020: Help for the displaced Rohingya
    • 2019: Suffering in Silence
    • 2018: Aid for Tsunami Victims in Sulawesi
    • 2017: Natural Disasters
    • 2016: Water is Life
    • 2014 & 2015: 100 Years - 100 Schools
    • 2013: School Expansion Senegal
    • 2012: School Projects in Africa
    • 2011: Water Supply for People in Africa
    • 2010: Aid for Slums in Brazil
    • 2009: Forest Garden Project in Haiti
    • 2008: Microcredits in India
    • 2007: Water for Refugees in Darfur
    • 2006: Pakistan and Togo
    • 2005: Earthquake in Pakistan
    • 2004: Projects for Tsunami Victims
Rohingya

Help for the displaced Rohingya

Together with the YOU Foundation - Education for Children in Need, “ZF hilft.” supports various campaigns to improve living conditions in the Kutupalong refugee camp.

The most persecuted minority in the world

The United Nations describes the Rohingya as the world's most persecuted minority. In August 2017 the government of Myanmar launched a large-scale military offensive against the population living in the west of the country:

Hundreds of Rohingya villages were burned to the ground, at least 6,700 people were brutally massacred, and countless people were raped. Within a few weeks, around 700,000 Rohingya were displaced and fled to Bangladesh.

The international community is talking about ethnic cleansing, and genocide proceedings against Myanmar are currently underway at the International Court of Justice in The Hague.

Who are the Rohingya?

As a stateless, predominantly Muslim minority, the Rohingya are at home in Rakhine, a Myanmar state on the border with Bangladesh. However, Myanmar does not recognize them as a native population and denies them citizenship. This means that the Rohingya have been systematically exposed to repression and persecution for decades. They live in poverty, have no right to vote and cannot officially leave the country.

The attacks in the summer of 2017 are the final act in a policy of discrimination that has spanned decades: since 1948, the Myanmar military has repeatedly devastated the Rohingya settlement area in massive operations, killing many members of the minority or forcing them to flee to neighboring countries.

A life on the run

There are currently more than one million displaced Rohingya, well over half of them children, in refugee camps in Bangladesh. A large number of them are housed in Kutupalong: Around 600,000 residents have been living in the world's largest refugee camp under catastrophic conditions for several years.

The refugees here lack basic supplies of food, clean water, sanitary facilities or medical care. The children and young people who grow up in the camp have no access to education. The adult residents lack income opportunities. In addition to this humanitarian crisis, there is the threat of COVID-19, which is spreading rapidly among the weakened refugees.

What can we do?

Together with the YOU Foundation - Education for Children in Need, “ZF hilft.” supports various campaigns to improve living conditions in the Kutupalong refugee camp.

In addition to emergency aid with food, sanitary products and medicines, as well as the sustainable supply of clean drinking water, the focus is on the one hand on the construction and expansion of a health station. In order to be able to particularly better help the victims of attacks, the station also trains special health assistants for women and girls. On the other hand, “ZF hilft.” is concerned with developing educational solutions in the camp. One of the aims is to give the children the chance of regular primary education outside of the camp in the long term.

Help us out!

The Rohingya in Kutupalong have suffered immeasurably. With your donation you help to give these people a new perspective.

"ZF HILFT." WITH RESPONSIBILITY TOWARDS THE FUTURE

Deutsch
Sprachen
  • Home
    • Hilfsprojekte
    • 2021: Flutopfer in Ahrweiler
    • 2020: Hilfe für die vertriebenen Rohingya
    • 2019: Suffering in Silence – Stilles Leiden
    • 2018: Hilfe für Tsunamiopfer in Sulawesi
    • 2017: Naturkatastrophen
    • 2016: Wasser ist Leben
    • 2014 & 2015: 100 Jahre - 100 Schulen
    • 2013: Bau einer Schule im Senegal
    • 2012: Schulprojekte in Afrika
    • 2011: Wasserversorgung in Afrika
    • 2010: Elendsviertel in Brasilien
    • 2009: Waldgartenprojekt in Haiti
    • 2008: Mikrokredite in Indien
    • 2007: Wasser für Flüchtlinge in Darfur
    • 2006: Medizinische Versorgung in Pakistan und Togo
    • 2005: Erdbeben in Pakistan
    • 2004: Hilfe for Tsunami-Opfer
Rohingya

Hilfe für die vertriebenen Rohingya

Gemeinsam mit der YOU Stiftung – Bildung für Kinder in Not unterstützt „ZF hilft.“ verschiedene Aktionen, um die Lebensbedingungen im Flüchtlingslager Kutupalong zu verbessern.

Die am stärksten verfolgte Minderheit der Welt

Die Vereinten Nationen bezeichnen die Rohingya als die weltweit meistverfolgte Minderheit. Im August 2017 startete die Regierung von Myanmar eine groß angelegte Militäroffensive gegen die im Westen des Landes lebende Bevölkerungsgruppe:

Hunderte Rohingya-Dörfer wurden niedergebrannt, mindestens 6.700 Menschen brutal massakriert, Unzählige fielen Vergewaltigungen zum Opfer. Innerhalb weniger Wochen wurden etwa 700.000 Rohingya vertrieben und flüchteten nach Bangladesch.

Die internationale Gemeinschaft spricht von einer ethnischen Säuberung, vor dem Internationalen Gerichtshof in Den Haag läuft aktuell ein Verfahren wegen Völkermordes gegen Myanmar.

Wer sind die Rohingya?

Als staatenlose, überwiegend muslimische Minderheit sind die Rohingya in Rakhine zuhause, einem myanmarischen Bundesstaat an der Grenze zu Bangladesch. Myanmar erkennt sie allerdings nicht als einheimische Bevölkerungsgruppe an und verweigert ihnen die Staatsbürgerschaft. Damit sind die Rohingya seit Jahrzehnten systematisch Repressionen und Verfolgung ausgesetzt. Sie leben in Armut, haben kein Wahlrecht und können nicht offiziell aus dem Land ausreisen.

Die Angriffe im Sommer 2017 sind der letzte Akt einer jahrzehntelangen Diskriminierungspolitik: Seit 1948 hat das Militär von Myanmar bei teilweise massiven Operationen immer wieder das Siedlungsgebiet der Rohingya verwüstet und viele Angehörige der Minderheit getötet oder zur Flucht in Nachbarländer gezwungen.

Ein Leben auf der Flucht

Aktuell befinden sich insgesamt mehr als eine Million vertriebene Rohingya, davon weit über die Hälfte Kinder, in Bangladesch in Flüchtlingslagern. Ein großer Teil von ihnen ist in Kutupalong untergebracht: Rund 600.000 Bewohner leben seit mehreren Jahren im größten Flüchtlingscamp der Welt unter katastrophalen Bedingungen.

Den Flüchtlingen hier fehlt es an grundlegender Versorgung mit Nahrung, sauberem Wasser, Sanitäranlagen oder medizinischer Betreuung. Die Kinder und Jugendlichen, die im Lager aufwachsen, haben keinen Zugang zu Bildung. Den erwachsenen Bewohnern fehlt es an Einkommensmöglichkeiten. Zu dieser humanitären Krise kommt nun noch die Bedrohung durch COVID-19, das sich unter den geschwächten Flüchtlingen stark ausbreitet.

Was können wir tun?

Gemeinsam mit der YOU Stiftung – Bildung für Kinder in Not unterstützt „ZF hilft.“ verschiedene Aktionen, um die Lebensbedingungen im Flüchtlingslager Kutupalong zu verbessern.

Neben der Nothilfe mit Lebensmitteln, Sanitärprodukten und Medikamenten sowie der nachhaltigen Versorgung mit sauberem Trinkwasser liegt der Fokus dabei zum einen auf dem Auf- und Ausbau einer Gesundheitsstation. Um insbesondere den Opfern von Übergriffen besser helfen zu können, bildet die Station zusätzlich spezielle Gesundheits-Assistenten für Frauen und Mädchen aus. Zum anderen beschäftigt sich „ZF hilft.“ damit, Bildungslösungen im Lager aufzubauen. Ein Ziel ist, den Kindern langfristig die Chance auf eine reguläre Grundschulbildung außerhalb des Lagers zu geben.

Helfen Sie mit!

Die Rohingya in Kutupalong haben unermessliches Leid erfahren müssen. Mit Ihrer Spende helfen Sie, diesen Menschen eine neue Perspektive zu geben.